top of page

Weston Super Maim - "180-Degree Murder"

Genre : Mathcore, Djent

Released : July 16th, 2021

Label : Dark Trail Records

FFO : Meshuggah, Car Bomb, Frontierer, The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza, Pound



Weston Super Maim are a transatlantic duo that pretty much appeared out of nowhere on my radar and immediately made a strong impression on me with their sludgy, progressive style of mathcore.


Anyone who knows me knows how much I enjoy this specific type of sound that bands like Frontierer and Car Bomb have been continuously pioneering over the past few years, so needless to say I was excited to get my ears on this.


"180 Degree Murder" is a two track, fifteen minute EP that seemlessly flows as one track and showcases a lot of variation and creativity in its songwriting over such a short span of time.


The duo's influences are definitely palpable and play a part in making this EP sound multi-faceted, flowing from straightforward blistering aggression, odd time syncopated chaos and at times, even uplifting melody.


I might be wrong but the songwriting style sounds as though the music has been written in an "as you go" fashion instead of having been fully pre-written with a set start and finish in mind, which gives it this flowing sensation that I really enjoy.


If you're hungry for some angular-sounding beefy riffs, pounding bass and polyrythmical madness topped with powerfully raw vocals and a "chunky" style of production, then look no further and hop on this train.


This is definitely one of my favourite EP's of the year so far and foreshadows some really cool stuff to come from this band in the future.

I'll be keeping an eye out for what's next!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page