top of page

Serling - "The James Bevis Chronicles"

Genre : Mathcore

Released : August 14th, 2021

Label : Granite Tomb Records

FFO : The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza, Frontierer, Weston Super Maim



Serling are a brand new mathcore duo based in New Hampshire who released their debut EP earlier last month.


Although only 15 minutes long, "The James Bevis Chronicles" makes an incredibly strong sonic statement as a debut effort and every second of music had my full attention through on out.


Going down the djenty/beefy mathcore road, what I enjoyed the most about this EP were the absurdly heavy low-end guitar and bass tones that have that digital chunkiness to them which, if you know me by now, I'm a sucker for.


The drumming is particularly intense and pummels those whammy dissonant chords and chugs into your ears with surgical precision while the vocals offer an engaging and gnarly performance, enhanced by great use of vocal layering.


The band's lyrical source of inspiration is derived from the staple sci-fi TV show "The Twilight Zone" which I am, unfortunately, not as familiar with as I would like to but if you're a fan of the show, that's one more reason for you to get invested in this new release!


Honestly did not expect to enjoy this project as much as I did (I'm still in disbelief at how hard the tones go on this thing), songwriting is solid, performances are A+ and the production really compliments their style of sound which is already very distinguishable.


If the quality on their first effort is already this high up I think it's safe to say we can expect some sick stuff from these guys in the future.


Definitely keep an eye out for them if you're a chunky mathcore enthusiast like me!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page