top of page

Satyr - "Locus"

Genre : Progressive metal, Post-hardcore, Math-rock, Mathcore

Released : February 21st, 2020

Label : Self-release

FFO : Protest the Hero, Stolas, Chon, At the Drive-in



"Locus" is a fast-paced, vertiginous display of excellent musicianship that combines the sweet and technical sound of math-rock with the unbridled agression of post-hardcore, some of the craziness of prog and the chaos of mathcore sprinkled on top.


It truly feels like the music is constantly "bouncing around" and never holding still for even a second and the vocals really emphasize this sensation by constantly switching between intervals,which can get a bit dizzying, perhaps even too much.


I've learned to love compositions that can never sit still and are unpredictable (my all-time favourite band being BTBAM) but I feel like this record could have benefited from a bit more "oxygen" since it can be quite a claustrophobic experience.


The constant barrage of technicality that is at first a very impressive and mind-melting performance can eventually feel a bit uniform and repetitive in all of it's chaos and make the songs feel like they're actually lacking in substance even though that is far from being the case.


Perhaps this is a case of "too much of a good thing is a bad thing"?

It's really weird, I feel like I should be wholeheartedly loving this record given my preferences in music but I can't help but think this album tries too hard just for the sake of it.


I guess I'll have to come back to it later and see if I changed my mind!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page