top of page

Lähiöbotox - "Rikkinäinen Suomi"

Genre : Hardcore, Crossover thrash

Release date : August 28th, 2020

Label : Self-release / Lipposen Levy Ja Kasetti

FFO : Rise of the Northstar, Hatebreed, Suicidal Tendencies, Loyal to the Grave



And here is Part 2 of the double review with @cube_rat where I discuss his pick "Rikkinäinen Suomi"!


Solely judging by the cover art I was expecting to listen to some weird underground, garage, experimental folk black metal or something like that but instead, I got greeted with some beefy hardcore riffs and powerful hardcore vocals delivered in suomi that instantly made me want to two-step in my room!


Granted, the guitar work on this album is definitely not the most original you'll ever hear and is pretty much hardcore riffs 101 but it sounds massive and does its job really well.


I love the fact that the vocals are in suomi since it immediately gives the music an established identity and universe which is enhanced even further by the tribal delivery of the vocals of some of the songs ("Sydämetön" and the title track for example).

There's a good use of gang vocals as well and for some reason I feel like the phonetics of the Suomi language make the songs sound even more energetic.

It definitely makes me think of a Finnish version of Rise of the North Star and I just wish I could understand what the vocals where saying since the delivery sounds very intense and impassioned.


It actually makes me wish I'd spend more time listening to bands that sing in languages I can't understand, it just creates another sense of immersion that is interesting to me.


Overall I'd say that the band's strong point is their identity rooted in Suomi culture since musically, it does get a bit predictable and repetitive by the end of the album so I would be interested in hearing these guys experiment more with different sounds on their next material but a very cool discovery nonetheless! Thank you @cube_rat for picking this album!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page