top of page

Employed To Serve - "Conquering"

Genre : Groove metal, Hardcore

Released : September 17th, 2021

Label : Spinefarm Records

FFO : Lamb of God, Code Orange, Trivium, Gojira



Two years after the release of their incredibly dynamic metallic hardcore gem "Eternal Forward Motion" and a hefty lineup change, UK powerhouse Employed To Serve are back with their fourth album "Conquering".


On this album, it feels like the band have gone from being the hardcore headliners of an independent festival to becoming the next big metal name to sell-out arena shows.

Channeling the 2000's American groove metal sound and favoring a more classic, straightforward metal approach over their previous metallic hardcore style that sometimes dabbled in mathcore territory, this stylistic change seems a bit double-edged to me.


On one hand, there are some absolutely crushing moments on this album that are allowed by this more simplistic approach and I can already see songs like "Conquering" and "World Ender" being highlights of their live shows.

This stylistic shift is also susceptible to reaching a broader audience due to how grounded it is in popular styles of heavy music.

But on the other hand, I cannot help but feel a bit underwhelmed by what Employed To Serve have to offer on this new record and I find myself missing the refreshing energy of their previous work as well as finding a certain lack of originality to this new approach to their sound.

Another thing that bothers me are the guitar solos and clean vocals that come off as being a bit awkward and, dare I say it, even tacky at times.


"Conquering" isn't a bad record by any means, objectively speaking.

Its massive sounding production helps in making that album title fitting, along with its uplifting lyrical themes and it has enormous live potential.

However, I do find myself struggling to enjoy this new direction as much as I enjoy the rest of their catalogue and I feel a bit saddened by the fact that Employed To Serve's music has lost some of its excitement for me with this new release.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page