top of page

Album of the Year (2020)



Loathe - "I Let It In And It Took Everything"


For those who have been paying attention this won't come as a surprise, but I honestly can't think of a better contender for this title this year.


I knew I had stumbled upon something very unique, creative and boundary pushing the moment I first heard "New Faces In the Dark".

This record explores so many interesting textures of sound and does so in a way that feels both alien yet familiar.


If I had to describe the way it makes me feel, I would probably picture myself walking through a dark maze of different rooms, with doors that each lead to different scenarios, memories, sensations..

To me, this has been the soundtrack to my own personal experience of 2020 on so many different levels.

It is synonymous with internalised anger, sorrow, regrets, utter despair and yet somehow hope as well.


I know that a lot of the mainstream metal press has already spoken volumes about this record, but if you have yet to listen to it, I strongly encourage you to do so and embark on this vivid sonic journey that will probably be very different to my own.


Without a doubt, this has been my biggest musical discovery of 2020 and I will keep coming back to it for years to come.


I Let It In, And I'm Glad I Did.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page