top of page

Psychonaut - "Unfold the God Man"

Genre : Post-metal, Progressive metal, Psychedelic metal

Release date : 6th March, 2020

Label : Pelagic Records

FFO : Tool, Amenra, Cult of Luna, The Ocean, Russian Circles



I had the pleasure of discovering Psychonaut only very recently through their new record, "Unfold the God Man" which is a both pummeling and introspective piece of work.


Some of the riffing is quite reminiscent of Tool's "10 000 Days", especially on the track "Kabuddah", while some Amenra influence can be heard on the vocals, both harsh and clean (especially on "Sanada").


I really enjoyed the more organic sounding elements the band incorporated here and there throughout the record (the throat singing on "Celestial Dictator" for instance) as well as the album's saxophone outro on "Nothing is Consciousness".


As I listened to the album, I felt like I had been pulled into an aggressive psychedelic odyssey that explores human consciousness, spirituality and the cosmos.

Yet another gem from Pelagic Records' roster, I highly recommend you give this band's first LP a listen.

Commentaires


bottom of page