top of page

Liturgy - "As the Blood of God Bursts the Veins of Time"

Updated: Nov 20, 2023

Genre : Experimental black metal, Noise

Released : October 5th, 2022

Label : Thrill Jockey Records

FFO : Lingua Ignota, Imperial Triumphant, Portal




I'm late to the party but this is actually the first full release I listen to from Liturgy after hearing about them making waves in the experimental black metal scene for quite some time now and I have to say, I didn't expect to find this much enjoyment in their music nor to be this impressed by it.


"As the Blood of God Bursts the Veins of Time" is pretty much one continuous track, save for the last fourth track that kind of stands on its own stylistically.

Regrettably, the closing track is the only part of the EP that didn't sit well with me, sending off on a bitter note an otherwise excellent piece of experimental black metal with some really memorable, sharp, uneasy sounding riffs which rapidly become massive earworms within a soundscape that is as harsh as it can be oddly cathartic.


I'm not entirely sure whether that "sharp" tingling sound I'm referring to is solely the result of guitar effects or if there's some additional layers of electronic manipulation or sound design going on, but it definitely creates an immense sense of unique characteristic to Liturgy's sound.


Surprisingly, the guitar work sometimes takes a turn for more hardcore/alternative metal style riffage, bringing "Opiate"/"Undertow"-era Tool to mind before diving back into that peculiar spin on black metal the band have got going on for themselves.


Definitely a standout EP this year that has finally pried open the doorway into Liturgy's catalogue for me personally.

I highly recommend listening to "As the Blood of God Bursts the Veins of Time" if like me, you weren't really familiar with Liturgy just yet and enjoy a heavy dose of creativity and experimentation with your black metal.

11 views0 comments
bottom of page