top of page

Enslaved - "Utgard"

Genre : Melodic death metal, Folk, Progressive Metal

Released : October 2nd, 2020

Label : Nuclear Blast Records

FFO : Ihsahn, Dark Tranquility, Ulver



I never really listened to Enslaved prior to this album and I've steered away from folk metal for years now but when the track "Urjotun" randomly popped up on Spotify I was intrigued and had to see for myself what the fuss was all about.


What was this obviously Norse folk themed album doing with a track that starts with weird experimental sounding electronic synths, I just had to find out.


Going into this I was expecting your cliché black/death folk metal album but it turns out I was actually pleasantly surprised with the experimentation going on in this album and the various textures of sound.


I wasn't entirely on board with all of the tracks but the album feels like a breath of fresh air in this specific style of heavy music, dabbling in different genres you wouldn't expect to find in this genre.


I think Enslaved just showed the metal world how to do a sonically interesting folk themed metal album that feels modern and adventurous without being cringe-worthy with their latest album "Utgard".

留言


bottom of page