top of page

Dark Tranquility - "Moment"

Genre : Melodic death metal, Melodic black metal

Released : November 20th, 2020

Label : Century Media Records

FFO : In Flames, At the Gates, Enslaved



I had never really listened to Dark Tranquility prior to this album so I didn't know what to expect but I ended up enjoying what I heard.


I thought there was a nice balance between mid 2000's melodic death metal and current metal trends in terms of production and for me the bridge between these two things were the synths and electronic arrangements that appear throughout.


I enjoyed the vocals both harsh and clean and even some of the lyrics.

Some of the riffing and choruses were pretty cool too and immediately stuck with me, to my own surprise given that this is not a genre I'm usually not too crazy about.


Kind of like with Nothing, it's the album cover that really drew me in to listening to the album since I thought there was such a disconnect between the artwork and the band's name along with the idea I had of the band's sound. And well, I'm glad I did!

Comments


bottom of page